According to the Department of Fair Employment and Housing, California law requires that all employers with 5 or more employees must provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to nonsupervisory employees. Supervisory employees must receive at least 2 hours of training on the same topics, once every two years. Both supervisory and nonsupervisory employees must receive their first training by the January 1, 2021 deadline.
Recently, in 2019, a LA County jury has awarded over $58 million dollars in punitive and compensatory damages to a woman who was sexually harassed by a billionaire hologram producer while working for him as his production assistant. The jury found that the producer committed sexual battery and acted with malice and oppression in addition to creating a hostile work environment. California takes sexual harassment very seriously and it is against the law. Many workers are subjected to harassment because of their sex or other protected characteristics, despite the greater awareness of sexual harassment and its harms. These prevention trainings are legally required and designed to educate and remind all employees about what is and what is not acceptable behavior in the workplace. If the producer would have been trained, he just might have avoided a $58 million sexual harassment lawsuit.
Extraleap takes sexual harassment prevention very seriously and is now offering two online interactive trainings, both for supervisory and nonsupervisory employees that satisfy both requirements. Both of these trainings are offered in Spanish as well. Take these courses to satisfy California’s law requirement of the January 1, 2021 deadline.